92 pairs contesting Burghley – Here is the drawn order

Colleen Rutledge and her homebred, Covert Rights finishing 11th at the 2015 Rolex CCI4*.

The drawn order has been announced for the Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials CCI4* on September 3rd to 6th. Currently, there are 92 duos set to compete but there have been 95 numbers assigned because two riders have multiple entries that they will not be riding. Oliver Townend has four mounts listed but will only ride three. Pippa Funnel has three horses listed but she is only going to ride two.

Some riders currently in the drawn order for Burghley may still withdraw and reroute to Blair Castle European Championships. William Fox-Pitt (GBR) has two horses on the start list, Fernhill Pimms and Bay My Hero, however, Bay My Hero is also entered at Blair. Pippa Funnell (GBR) is listed to ride Resdesigned and Mirage D’Elle both with Second Supreme double entered. But her Second Supreme is her reserve horse for Blair.

There is a notable void in the start list. Andrew Nicholson (NZL) has won Burghley, the last three years on Avebury and will not be defending his title. He suffered a neck injury after a fall at the Gatcombe CIC3 (August 9th) and underwent an eight hour surgery to repair the fractures and stabilize his cervical spine. “Obviously I won’t be riding again this season as it will take some time to fully recover. Whilst I have to take things easy, I am up and about and fully mobile, and look forward to getting back to full fitness in due course,” said Andrew in a statement released by Eventing NZ on Facebook. It will be sad for all Eventing fans not to see Andrew in action this year, but we all wish him a speedy recovery and to see him at Burghley next year.

The 2009 Burghley winner, Oliver Townend, is slotted to be the first rider out of the start box on Dromgurrihy Blue, and he will also be the last to rider to go, riding Armada. Oliver will also wear number 53, while riding Samuel Thomas II. He also has Fenyas Elegance double entered with Dromgurrihy Blue and Armada and this mare is on the British squad for Blair, making it unlikely that she will run Burghley.

Other past Burghley-winning riders set to compete are Caroline Powell riding Onwards and Upwards (number 36) and Mark Todd riding Leonidas II (number 27). Michael Jung has not won Burghley or even competed there before but he has won the 2010 World Equestrian Games (WEG) and 2012 Olympics, just to name a few of his most impressive wins. He is entered on his two top horses, Fischeroccana FST (number 16) the 2015 Rolex CCI4* winner and La Biosthetique – Sam FBW (number 85) the Olympic and WEG gold medal-winning partner.

There are no Canadian riders competing at this year’s Burghley but there are three American pairs. Laine Ashker and Anthony Patch, Lynn Symansky and Donner, along with Colleen Rutledge and Covert Rights will be representing the United States at this prestigious CCI4*. All three of these combinations have some solid four-star experience so the Europeans better be ready for some North American competition.


Scroll for more top stories on Eventing Connect